# Appendix 1.5 Places of birth disseminated in the 2011 National Household Survey

In Canada

Newfoundland and Labrador

Prince Edward Island

Nova Scotia

New Brunswick

Quebec

Ontario

Manitoba

Saskatchewan

Alberta

British Columbia

Yukon

Northwest Territories

Nunavut

#### Outside Canada

Americas

North America

Saint Pierre and Miguelon

**United States** 

Central America

Belize

Costa Rica

El Salvador

Guatemala

Honduras

Mexico

Nicaragua

Panama

## Caribbean and Bermuda

Anguilla

Antigua and Barbuda

Aruba

Bahamas

Barbados

Bermuda

Cayman Islands

Cuba

Curaçao

Dominica

Dominican Republic

Grenada

Guadeloupe

Haiti

Jamaica

Martinique

Montserrat

Puerto Rico

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Sint Maarten (Dutch part)

Trinidad and Tobago

Turks and Caicos Islands

Virgin Islands, British Virgin Islands, United States

## South America Argentina Bolivia<sup>1</sup> Brazil Chile Colombia Ecuador French Guiana Guyana Paraguay Peru Suriname Uruguay Venezuela<sup>2</sup> Americas, n.i.e.<sup>3</sup> Europe Western Europe Austria Belgium France Germany Luxembourg Monaco Netherlands Switzerland Eastern Europe Belarus Bulgaria Czech Republic Estonia Hungary Latvia Lithuania Moldova<sup>4</sup> Poland Romania Russian Federation Slovakia Ukraine Northern Europe Denmark Faroe Islands Finland Guernsey Iceland Ireland, Republic of Isle of Man Jersey Norway Sweden United Kingdom<sup>5</sup> Southern Europe

Albania Bosnia and Herzegovina Croatia Gibraltar Greece Italy Kosovo<sup>6</sup> Macedonia, Republic of<sup>7</sup> Malta Montenegro Portugal Serbia Slovenia Spain Europe, n.i.e.<sup>8</sup> Africa Western Africa Benin Burkina Faso Cape Verde Côte d'Ivoire Gambia Ghana Guinea Guinea-Bissau Liberia Mali Mauritania Niger Nigeria Senegal Sierra Leone Togo Eastern Africa Burundi Comoros Djibouti Eritrea Ethiopia Kenya Madagascar Malawi Mauritius Mozambique Réunion Rwanda Seychelles Somalia Tanzania<sup>9</sup> Uganda Zambia Zimbabwe Northern Africa Algeria Egypt

```
Libya<sup>10</sup>
        Morocco
        Sudan
        Tunisia
   Central Africa
        Angola
        Cameroon
        Central African Republic
        Chad
        Congo, The Democratic Republic of the
        Congo, Republic of the
        Equatorial Guinea
        Gabon
   Southern Africa
        Botswana
        Lesotho
        Namibia
        South Africa, Republic of
        Swaziland
   Africa, n.i.e. 11
Asia
   West Central Asia and the Middle East
        Afghanistan
        Armenia
        Azerbaijan
        Bahrain
        Cyprus
        Georgia
        Iran<sup>12</sup>
        Iraq
        Israel
        Jordan
        Kazakhstan
        Kuwait
        Kyrgyzstan
        Lebanon
        Oman
        Qatar
        Saudi Arabia
        Syria<sup>13</sup>
        Tajikistan
        Turkey
        Turkmenistan
        United Arab Emirates
        Uzbekistan
        West Bank and Gaza Strip (Palestine)<sup>14</sup>
        Yemen
   Eastern Asia
        China<sup>15</sup>
        Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
        Japan
        Korea, North<sup>16</sup>
Korea, South<sup>17</sup>
        Macao Special Administrative Region
        Mongolia
```

```
Taiwan
   Southeast Asia
        Brunei Darussalam
        Burma (Myanmar)
        Cambodia
        Indonesia
        Laos 18
        Malaysia
        Philippines
        Singapore
        Thailand
        Viet Nam<sup>19</sup>
   Southern Asia
        Bangladesh
        Bhutan
        India
        Nepal
        Pakistan
        Sri Lanka
   Asia. n.i.e.<sup>20</sup>
Oceania
   Australia
   Fiii
   French Polynesia
   New Caledonia
   New Zealand
   Papua New Guinea
   Samoa
   Tonga
   Oceania, n.i.e.<sup>21</sup>
Other
```

n.i.e. = not included elsewhere

#### Notes

- 1. The official name of Bolivia is Plurinational State of Bolivia.
- 2. The official name of Venezuela is Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.
- 3. Includes countries such as Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba; Falkland Islands (Malvinas); Greenland; Saint Barthélemy; Saint Martin (French part); and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands.
- 4. The official name of Moldova is Republic of Moldova.
- 5. The official name of United Kingdom is United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. United Kingdom includes Scotland, Wales, England and Northern Ireland (excludes Isle of Man, the Channel Islands and British Overseas Territories).
- 6. The official name of Kosovo is Republic of Kosovo.
- 7. Known as Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia in the United Nations and other international bodies.
- 8. Includes countries such as Åland Islands; Andorra; Holy See (Vatican City State); Liechtenstein; San Marino; and Svalbard and Jan Mayen Island.
- 9. The official name of Tanzania is United Republic of Tanzania.
- 10. The official name of Libya is Libyan Arab Jamahiriya.
- 11. Includes countries such as Mayotte; Saint Helena; Sao Tome and Principe; and Western Sahara.
- 12. The official name of Iran is Islamic Republic of Iran.
- 13. The official name of Syria is Syrian Arab Republic.

- 14. West Bank and Gaza Strip are the territories referred to in the Declaration of Principles, signed by Israel and the Palestine Liberation Organization in 1993. Palestine refers to pre-1948 British mandate Palestine.
- 15. China excludes Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and Macao Special Administrative Region.
- 16. The official name of North Korea is Democratic People's Republic of Korea.
- 17. The official name of South Korea is Republic of Korea.
- 18. The official name of Laos is Lao People's Democratic Republic.
- 19. The official name of Viet Nam is Socialist Republic of Viet Nam.
- 20. Includes countries such as British Indian Ocean Territory; Maldives; and Timor-Leste.
- 21. Includes countries such as American Samoa; Christmas Island; Cocos (Keeling) Islands; Cook Islands; Guam; Kiribati; Marshall Islands; Micronesia, Federated States of; Nauru; Niue; Norfolk Island; Northern Mariana Islands; Palau; Pitcairn; Solomon Islands; Tokelau; Tuvalu; United States Minor Outlying Islands; Vanuatu; and Wallis and Futuna.